What is wrong with other people…?

For some reason, once you become a parent (or pregnant for that matter!)….you are suddenly “public property”. Don’t get me wrong, being made a fuss of when you are struggling about in your 7/8/9th month of pregnancy, or swanning around with your adorable new bundle of joy is lovely.

But…being public property has it’s downsides too. Apparently it means that other people can share their opinions with you/about you/at you (or in such a loud voice that they may as well say it to your face.!!)

I have made some parenting decisions, mostly based upon what feels right for me/us, things I have read, scientific research (I am the ultimate teacher geek!). Some of the decisions I have made are different than other parents have made, that is fine and to be expected, we all have different experience and backgrounds.

What I object to is other people feeling the need to openly criticise the way I have chosen to raise our little boy. An older lady at some local gardens made a comment about the fact I was using a sling to carry my 4.5 month old, suggesting it would lead to “so many problems”.

Frankly you can f*** off, keep your opinions to yourself!!

I wish more people would follow the “THINK” before you speak rule:

think

I’m a pretty confident person these days and an uninvited comment from some random pensioner is unlikely to make me change how I parent, but there may be some  of you who aren’t. If you’ve made a decision that feels right for your family, stick with it!! Then slag them off behind their back like a normal person!!

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

